Stroudsburg
Registration required - Ordinance
- Ordinance #1087 (STR licensing), plus Chapter 27 zoning amendment
- Fee
- $250 initial per unit (includes first inspection), $150 annual renewal, $100 per additional inspection
- Renewal
- annual, due May 1
- Inspection
- yes
- Occupancy
- not found
- Local contact
- not found
- Zoning
- Prohibited in R-1, R-2, R-3. Permitted in C-1, C-1A, C-2, MU-A, MU-B, I-1, O-1.
- In effect
- Ordinance #1087 enacted May 5, 2020
Open question: Local contact rule not confirmed from primary text.
Sources: 12 · checked 2026-09-14
East Stroudsburg
Registration required - Ordinance
- Ordinance No. 1379 (Chapter 124, Article III), zoning Ordinance No. 1380
- Fee
- Set by Borough Council resolution, amount not published in ordinance
- Renewal
- annual
- Inspection
- yes, annual
- Occupancy
- One family per dwelling unit; day guests up to 75% of overnight maximum
- Local contact
- yes, manager within 20 miles if owner is not a full time resident within 20 miles
- Zoning
- Permitted in R-2, R-3, C-1, C-1A, C-1B, C-2, OM-1, S-1, I-U. Not listed for R-1.
- In effect
- Enacted 2021
Sources: 123 · checked 2026-09-14
Stroud Township
Registration required - Ordinance
- Ordinance No. 4-2020 (Chapter 11, Part 2)
- Fee
- Set by Board of Supervisors resolution, amount not published in ordinance
- Renewal
- annual
- Inspection
- yes, including sewage system inspection
- Occupancy
- 2 bedrooms 6, 3 bedrooms 8, 4 bedrooms 10, 5 bedrooms 12; maximum 5 bedrooms
- Local contact
- yes, 24 hour phone or authorized local agent
- Zoning
- Not stated in the STR ordinance
- In effect
- 2020
Sources: 1 · checked 2026-09-14
Pocono Township (Tannersville)
Registration required - Ordinance
- Chapter 302, Ord. 2019-07 amended by Ord. 2021-02
- Fee
- Set in township fee schedule, amount not published in ordinance
- Renewal
- annual, November 1 to October 31
- Inspection
- yes
- Occupancy
- 2 per bedroom plus 4, or 14 total, whichever is less; day guests up to 75%
- Local contact
- yes, person in charge within 15 miles, responds within 1 hour
- Zoning
- Permitted only in Commercial and Recreational districts
- In effect
- Adopted Sept 16, 2019; amended Mar 15, 2021
Open question: Source is an archived copy of eCode360.
Sources: 1 · checked 2026-09-14
Mount Pocono
Registration required - Ordinance
- Chapter 154 Article III, Ord. No. 3 of 2016; districts amended by Ord. No. 5 of 2023
- Fee
- $500 registration fee (application form)
- Renewal
- annual
- Inspection
- yes, before first rental and before renewal
- Occupancy
- 2 per bedroom plus 2 (2 bedrooms 6 up to 6 bedrooms 14)
- Local contact
- yes, local contact (owner may serve within 40 miles), responds within 1 hour
- Zoning
- Not permitted in R-1, R-2, R-3, M, R-LM. Permitted in C-1 and C-2.
- In effect
- Adopted June 6, 2016; districts amended June 6, 2023
Open question: Fee is from the 2022 application form.
Sources: 123 · checked 2026-09-14
Coolbaugh Township
Registration required - Ordinance
- Ordinance No. 141-2020 (Chapter 324)
- Fee
- $200 initial application, $150 annual renewal, $40 re-inspection
- Renewal
- annual; late fee doubles after Feb 15, license void after May 1
- Inspection
- yes
- Occupancy
- 2 per bedroom plus 4 (under 2 not counted); day guests up to 75%
- Local contact
- yes, 24 hour contact on site within 2 hours
- Zoning
- Not stated in Chapter 324; zoning Chapter 400 not reviewed
- In effect
- 2020
Sources: 12 · checked 2026-09-14
Tobyhanna Township
Registration required - Ordinance
- Ordinance No. 569 (Chapter 114), amended by No. 572; zoning Ord. No. 570
- Fee
- Set by Board resolution, amount not published; $200 fee for application reviews beyond the third
- Renewal
- annual, rolling
- Inspection
- yes
- Occupancy
- 2 per bedroom, maximum 10
- Local contact
- yes, 24 hour local contact
- Zoning
- Permitted in RR Rural Residential and OS Open Space districts
- In effect
- Enacted June 28, 2022; amended Oct 3, 2022
Sources: 1234 · checked 2026-09-14
Tunkhannock Township
Registration required - Ordinance
- Ordinance No. 2019-01
- Fee
- $750 new permit, $250 renewal (effective March 1, 2026)
- Renewal
- annual
- Inspection
- yes
- Occupancy
- 2 per bedroom plus 4; day guests up to 50% of overnight maximum
- Local contact
- yes, person in charge reachable 24/7
- Zoning
- Applies to all residential dwelling units township wide
- In effect
- Adopted Oct 9, 2019
Open question: Third party sites still show an outdated $500/$100 fee. Different township of the same name exists in Wyoming County (tunkhannocktwp.org).
Sources: 12 · checked 2026-09-14
Jackson Township
Registration required - Ordinance
- not found
- Fee
- $1,000 initial (non refundable), $750 annual renewal; $100 per extra inspection
- Renewal
- annual
- Inspection
- yes, every 2 years at renewal (confirmed: due in 2026 if not inspected in 2025)
- Occupancy
- not found
- Local contact
- not found
- Zoning
- Not permitted in R-1 or where an owners association bars rentals; existing permitted R-1 properties may continue
- In effect
- In place since July 2018
Open question: Ordinance number and occupancy rule still not published on the township's own STR page as of 2026-09-28 recheck.
Sources: 1 · checked 2026-09-28
Middle Smithfield Township
Registration required - Ordinance
- Chapter 150, Ordinance No. 221 (restating No. 216)
- Fee
- $500 annual (2026 fee schedule, Resolution 01-2026-4)
- Renewal
- annual, November 1 to October 31
- Inspection
- yes
- Occupancy
- 2 per bedroom plus 4, or 14 total, whichever is less; day guests up to 75%
- Local contact
- yes, person in charge within 15 miles
- Zoning
- not found
- In effect
- Enacted Aug 23, 2018
Sources: 123 · checked 2026-09-14
Smithfield Township
No registration ordinance - Ordinance
- Zoning §27-306 (Ordinance 225)
- Fee
- none found
- Renewal
- none found
- Inspection
- none found
- Occupancy
- not found
- Local contact
- not found
- Zoning
- Prohibited in R-C, R-1 and R-2; permitted in R-E Resort district
- In effect
- Dec 13, 2016
Open question: Blog claims of an annual permit likely confuse it with Middle Smithfield.
Sources: 12 · checked 2026-09-14
Hamilton Township
No registration ordinance - Ordinance
- not found
- Fee
- none found
- Renewal
- none found
- Inspection
- none found
- Occupancy
- not found
- Local contact
- not found
- Zoning
- Zoning District A limited to a single housekeeping unit; PA Supreme Court (Slice of Life v. Hamilton Twp ZHB, 2019) held short term rental use is not permitted there
- In effect
- not found
Sources: 123 · checked 2026-09-14
Barrett Township
Registration required - Ordinance
- Chapter 391, Rental Property
- Fee
- Conflicting township documents: fee schedule (rev 03/26/2025) says $500 registration and $300 annual renewal; the 2026 permit application says $1,000 first time up to 3 bedrooms plus $50 per extra bedroom. Both documents current as of this check, conflict not resolved by the township.
- Renewal
- annual
- Inspection
- yes, first inspection included; $100 re-inspection
- Occupancy
- not found
- Local contact
- yes, 24/7 managing agent or local contact
- Zoning
- not found
- In effect
- not found
Open question: Fee conflict between two official documents, both current as of 2026-09-28 recheck.
Sources: 12 · checked 2026-09-28
Paradise Township
Registration required - Ordinance
- Chapter 114 (Ord. 240, amended by 255 and 267)
- Fee
- Set by resolution, amount not published
- Renewal
- annual
- Inspection
- yes
- Occupancy
- 2 per bedroom plus 4 (2021 text)
- Local contact
- yes, 24 hour phone or local agent
- Zoning
- Zoning Ordinance No. 281 replaced the STR zoning provision (Sec. 160-12.A(64.A)): STR use now requires its own zoning permit in addition to the Ch. 114 license, is capped at 4 bedrooms (or fewer if sewage capacity is lower), is barred on lots nonconforming in minimum area, and needs proof of adequate sewage disposal at application. Ordinance No. 280 (same enactment round) rewrote the Ch. 114 license terms: 24-hour contact for the managing agent, added sewage-facility disclosure and inspection proof requirements, and restated annual license renewal.
- In effect
- Chapter 114 adopted Mar 6, 2017 (Ord. 240), amended 2019 and 2021; Ordinance No. 280 (license) and No. 281 (zoning) both enacted 2024 per their ecode360 text, noticed for a Feb 18, 2026 hearing per the county legal notice, so read both dates as unconfirmed final-adoption vs. hearing/publication
Open question: Ordinance 273 (2022 Resort Development Area overlay amendment) touches Article XII, not the STR section directly; not re-verified this pass. Adoption date on Ordinances 280/281 is unclear between the ordinance text and the county hearing notice; treat the substance as current but do not quote a single adoption date until the township confirms.
Sources: 1234 · checked 2026-09-28
Price Township
Status unknown - Ordinance
- not found
- Fee
- not found
- Renewal
- not found
- Inspection
- not found
- Occupancy
- not found
- Local contact
- not found
- Zoning
- not found
- In effect
- not found
Open question: Official site blocked automated access; status unknown.
Sources: 1 · checked 2026-09-14